The Road To Freedom bus tour and national awareness campaign is a project of:

ADA Watch and the National Coalition for Disability Rights
601Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Suite 900S
Washington, DC 20004
Voice: 202-415-4753

The Road To Freedom is a national awareness campaign inspired by the historic journey of Justin and Yoshiko Dart to mobilize support for passage of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). Our year-long, cross-country bus journey launched from Washington, DC on November 15th, 2006 and aims to engage audiences across the United States in the story of the Americans with Disabilities Act and the history of the disability rights movement. We hope to mobilize Americans to keep the promise of the ADA – freedom, inclusion, and opportunity for children and adults with physical, mental, cognitive and developmental disabilities.

Throughout this journey, national and state disability leaders will be joined by young people with disabilities, family members and others in a campaign to restore and strengthen the ADA.

Here’s how we’ll get the word out:

The Road to Freedom Bus will stop at more than 80 locations nationwide, from state capitals to disability conferences to sporting events to malls and parades.

Tom Olin’s historical photographs of the struggle for disability rights are featured in our traveling exhibit. Olin’s work has been featured at the Smithsonian Institute. This exhibit also includes a narrative of the history of the disability rights movement and the ADA.

• We plan press conferences, radio shows and TV interviews highlighting both the obstacles —and the victories— of Americans with disabilities.

• The tour will visit schools and colleges to design youth curriculum, working with our partners, the National Youth Leadership Network.

The Road To Freedom bus tour and traveling exhibit is a project of ADA Watch and the National Coalition for Disability Rights (NCDR), an alliance of hundreds of disability, civil rights and social justice organizations.

ADA Watch/NCDR Board of Directors*
and National Advisory Council Members:

Jim Ward* President and Founder

Curt Decker* Co-Chair
National Disability Rights Network, CCD

Nancy Starnes* Co-Chair
National Organization Disability

Nan Aron
Alliance for Justice

Robert Bernstein
Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law

Janine Bertram Kemp*
Disability Rights Center

Marca Bristo
Access Living

Honorable Tony Coelho
Former U.S. Congressman

Robert Coward*
Capitol Area ADAPT

Len Doran*
The Wexford Group

Kyle Glozier
National Disabled Student Union

Claudia Gordon
National Black Deaf Advocates

Wade Henderson
Leadership Conference on Civil Rights

Ron Bassman*
National Association for
Rights Protection and Advocacy

Honorable Judith Heumann

John Lancaster
National Council on Independent Living

Ralph G. Neas
People For the American Way

Tom Olin
Photographer and Social Documentarian

Mike Oxford

Lee Page*
Paralyzed Veterans of America

Debra Robinson
Speaking For Ourselves

Marcie Roth*
National Spinal Cord Injury Network

Brewster Thackeray*

Betsy Valnes
National Youth Leadership Network

Patrisha Wright
Disability Rights Education and
Defense Fund

Tony Young